Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Off Topic - Totally (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/off-topic-totally/)
-   -   I'm getting my Master's Degree (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/off-topic-totally/45182-im-getting-masters-degree.html)

shadytrake 03-30-2011 03:30 PM

I'm getting my Master's Degree

I must be crazy. I just started my Master's degree in Accounting at University of Phoenix (online).

I have no accounting background just my work experience (10 years in international manufacturing and logistics).

I did okay my first week, but now in the 2nd week I think I might be in over my head. I know the basics of a balance sheet but I don't have the formal background from school.

I am interested in forensic accounting and auditing and I want to branch out if opportunities come my way.

Feeling a little overwhelmed. :shock::faint:

Eyebabe 03-30-2011 03:35 PM

Slow and steady wins the race ;)
Hang in there! You can do it!
It takes time to get back into the swing of "school" after you've been doing real life for a while...

Becky15349 03-30-2011 06:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eyebabe (Post 390936)
Slow and steady wins the race ;)
Hang in there! You can do it!
It takes time to get back into the swing of "school" after you've been doing real life for a while...

So true!! It's hard to step outside one's comfort zone. We have faith in you! Do it do it do it! :)

shadytrake 03-30-2011 08:02 PM

I'm such an idiot...I was in the wrong program.

I was wondering why I thought I was missing like 10 pre-req classes.:oops_sign

I thought I signed up for the MBA with Accounting Concentration. :blushing:

Well I called my advisor and we chatted and got it all straightened out and in the meantime, I changed my major to the MBA in Global Management since I work for an international company.