Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Coelogyne Alliance (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/coelogyne-alliance/)
-   -   Thunia marshalliana (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/coelogyne-alliance/37380-thunia-marshalliana.html)

RobS 07-14-2010 01:08 PM

Thunia marshalliana

Amazed that this orchid doesn't have it's thread yet.

http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/b...rshalliana.jpg

Thunia alba (syn Thunia marshalliana as I just found out)

Easy to grow if you know what to do. Don't water until the new growth is 3-5cm / 1-2 inch. Then water regulary untill the leaves fall down then no water untill the new shoot arrives. Flowers every year with beautifull white flowers with a nice scent. Only downside is that in the warm summer the flowers last only a week.

Some people say it's a bit susceptible to mites but I've been growing mine in the living room for 3 years without any problems.

Angurek 07-15-2010 04:06 PM

Very nice. I love the contrasting bronzy brown markings on the ruffled lip.

I didn't know Thunias are members of the Coelogyne alliance. You learn something new every day, I suppose. :)

RobS 07-15-2010 04:24 PM

Just found out that the name is a synonym according to Kew it should be Thunia alba.

Also the family doesn't seem to be clear after some extra checks I've found Coelogyninae and Thuniinae as subtribe both have Arethuseae as tribe both on Wikipedia even (different languages). So I assume it's splitters versus lumpers again.

trdyl 07-15-2010 05:21 PM

It is lovely! That lip color is wonderful.

pheli 07-15-2010 08:55 PM

It is pretty.

RosieC 07-22-2010 05:47 AM

Really pretty, love the smooth white and bronze!

calvin_orchidL 07-22-2010 08:24 AM