Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   Den. moniliforme Keiki? (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/110779-den-moniliforme-keiki.html)

c123anderson 11-10-2022 09:45 AM

Den. moniliforme Keiki?

1 Attachment(s)
Hi everyone! I am somewhat new to the dendrobium moniliforme world, and was looking at one of my plants and saw what I thought was a keiki.

1. Is this a keiki?
2. On such a little plant, should I be worried/try to remove it?
3. Other thoughts on what to do?

thanks!

tmoney 11-10-2022 10:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by c123anderson (Post 995005)
Hi everyone! I am somewhat new to the dendrobium moniliforme world, and was looking at one of my plants and saw what I thought was a keiki.

1. Is this a keiki?
2. On such a little plant, should I be worried/try to remove it?
3. Other thoughts on what to do?

thanks!

hey, we r dendro newbs ourself, but seeing that little keiki we would leave it till the spring before separating. that’s just our uninformed opinion tho, and hopefully more experienced growers will weigh in. good luck!

estación seca 11-10-2022 11:02 AM

That's how this species makes new growth. I would leave it alone.

isurus79 11-10-2022 11:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by estación seca (Post 995013)

That's what I was thinking as well. Plant looks a bit dehydrated too.

c123anderson 11-10-2022 11:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by isurus79 (Post 995014)
Plant looks a bit dehydrated too.

Just got this one a few days ago.

Makes me wonder about the keiki, since I associate those with plant distress.

---------- Post added at 08:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:46 AM ----------

Quote:

Originally Posted by estación seca (Post 995013)