Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   Which orchid is the most rewarding? (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/107904-orchid-rewarding.html)

H.D 09-27-2021 11:42 AM

Which orchid is the most rewarding?

Hi everyone!!
I am a novice orchid grower, with only 6 orchids , acquired over the past two months when I got into orchids.
I know there is no proper answer for this, and each orchid is beautiful and unique in its own way, but the sheer varieties of orchids do confound the beginner.

I know every one will have a specific characteristic making an orchid special for them, let be it fragrance, the number of flowerings in a year, the flowers, the longevity of flowers and so on. but I would love to know your opinion on this matter , and get new orchids.

thanks!!

Clawhammer 09-27-2021 12:04 PM

Here are the ones in my collection that give me the flowering bang for the buck.

My Prosthechea cochleata has been in bloom for 2.5 years straight.

Phal Bellina usually has at least one delighfully fragrant flower on it.

Iwanagara Apple Blossom blooms 3 times a year for me with a great fragrance and beautiful flower.

Shadeflower 09-27-2021 12:40 PM

one thing I have learnt and this might be subjective to me but it seems that fragrant orchids are more fussy.

Species are more fussy than hybrids.

And the best orchids are the ones that flower reliably.

I'm sure in time I will change my mind once I get more fragrant ones to flower. So far it has been mostly fragrant phalaenopsis that have reliably bloomed, I wish it was more. I would recommend Phalaenopsis and Cattleya hybrids for that reason. They are fragrant and aren't too fussy.