Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Cattleya Alliance (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/cattleya-alliance/)
-   -   Cattleya bulbs getting wrinkled, new growths skinny (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/cattleya-alliance/104296-cattleya-bulbs-getting-wrinkled-growths-skinny.html)

pokefan_nat 07-31-2020 02:27 PM

Cattleya bulbs getting wrinkled, new growths skinny

6 Attachment(s)
Hi I’m new to growing cattleya orchids and I don’t think mine grows sheaths and idk if it’s going to bloom. I need some help because it’s also a hybrid. I purchased it in April so maybe it’s just not ready to bloom yet. The vendor said it was from Hawaii and is mature. The bad thing is I don’t get good sunlight at home so I’m using bright red and blue LED lights (it said they were full spectrum but I’m having second thoughts because the vendor isn't on amazon anymore and now i'm learning that full spectrum is white light) I water it every 7 days and fertilize every 2 weeks. Sometimes I spray the leaves but I'm not sure if that's helping humidity. If there's anyone from Louisiana that grows cattleyas? In what conditions do you grow your plants? (Im thinking about getting an indoor plastic greenhouse to increase humidity)

estación seca 07-31-2020 02:56 PM

It's severely underwatered. Notice the wrinkling on the leaves, as well as pseudobulbs. Every seven days during the growing season is too seldom for most Cattleyas in a home.

Cattleyas mostly grow on trees in their natural habitat. Their roots are exposed to the air, but there is a lot of water during their growing season. Their roots are wet most of the time. This is how they prefer to grow: moist, with air.