Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Greenhouse Gardening (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/greenhouse-gardening/)
-   -   Best roof covering for outdoor orchid structure. (https://www.orchidboard.com/community/greenhouse-gardening/101041-roof-covering-outdoor-orchid-structure.html)

Pandamom 07-28-2019 11:34 AM

Best roof covering for outdoor orchid structure.

1 Attachment(s)
Hi all! This is my first post as I am relatively new to the orchid world. I live in central Florida, USA and have all my orchids outside in a 10’ x 12’ open structure constructed out of galvanized pipe with the sides open and the roof covered in 70% shade cloth over wire mesh. With the massive rains we have been experiencing, I covered everything in visqueen which almost destroyed the roof because the rain did not run off and was massively heavy. I need to convert to a solid roof system. So here is my question. I plan to use corrugated polycarbonate roofing panels. They block over 99% UV but that doesn’t necessarily mean it blocks heat. I was going to use the clear and try to also use the shade cloth but they have a “translucent smoked” version. Is anyone familiar with this product? Since Mother’s Day I went from 4 to over 40 orchids and I don’t want to cook them to death now. Thanks for the help!!

fishmom 07-28-2019 11:38 AM

Regardless of the material, you woiuld do best to build in a slight slant to the roof to encourage runoff.

Ray 07-28-2019 12:30 PM

If you want heat control, go with clear polycarbonate (tinted may cut out too much light and/or shift the spectrum the plants see) and an Aluminet shade cloth (gothicarchgreenhouses.com will make exactly what you need and at the best price).

fooferdoggie 07-28-2019 01:13 PM

since you don't get snow you don't need a heavy duty frame. the clear for water protection and she shade cloth for light control.