Rules and differing opinions
Login
User Name
Password   


Registration is FREE. Click to become a member of OrchidBoard community
(You're NOT logged in)

menu menu

Sponsor
Donate Now
and become
Forum Supporter.

Rules and differing opinions
Many perks!
<...more...>


Sponsor
 

Google


Fauna Top Sites
LOG IN/REGISTER TO CLOSE THIS ADVERTISEMENT
Go Back   Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! > >
Poll: Should orchidboard be censoring people's opinion?
Poll Options
Should orchidboard be censoring people's opinion?

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-17-2020, 08:20 PM
nikkik nikkik is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Metro Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,700
Rules and differing opinions Female
Default

As others have said, orchidboard is paid for by someone. This forum is about growing orchids, it's not a forum to debate, argue or spread negativity. There are other places on the web for that.

We are all different (as you pointed out) and so is our experience growing. There will always be differences in ideas and opinions with so many members, but that NEVER gives anyone a right to name call, degrade, insult or be unkind to another member. I also think that those guidelines are for life in general, not just this forum.

If you are being unkind or unpleasant, I agree that you should be censored or banned from this forum. This is supposed to be a joyful, happy place for people to talk about their passion, orchids. This is NOT a place where people come to fight or be made to feel small. No one wants to log into their favorite hobby forum to feel bad about what they are reading.

I feel bad that you think unkind behavior is your right. That's not a great stance to have in any facet of life. I think you should reevaluate the way you are looking at this situation and instead of playing the victim, look at how awesome it is that people are willing to stand up to make sure this remains a positive place for everyone, including you. It's awesome that people actually care about the experience we have on this board!! I wish everyone cared enough to protect others from negativity (like the moderators on this board do), what a different world, positive world that would be.

I will get off of my soapbox, but I'm going to close with a quote that I love.

Quote by*Mahatma Gandhi: “Be the change that you wish to see in the world.”
Post Thanks / Like - 5 Likes
  #12  
Old 04-17-2020, 08:36 PM
DirtyCoconuts's Avatar
DirtyCoconuts DirtyCoconuts is offline
Senior Member
Rules and differing opinions
 

Join Date: Sep 2019
Zone: 10b
Location: South Florida, East Coast
Posts: 4,905
Rules and differing opinions
Default

I mean, we’re here to talk about flowers....
__________________
All the ways I grow are dictated by the choices I have made and the environment in which I live. Please listen and act accordingly
--------------------------------------------------------------
Rooted in South Florida....

Zone 10b, Baby! Hot and wet

#MoreFlowers Insta
#MoreFlowers Flickr
Post Thanks / Like - 4 Likes
Likes Afid, neophyte, SouthPark, Clawhammer liked this post
  #13  
Old 04-17-2020, 09:02 PM
Dollythehun's Avatar
Dollythehun Dollythehun is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2016
Zone: 6a
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 5,516
Rules and differing opinions Female
Default

When everyone is wrong except you, that should be a tip off of your narcissism. The Board has a kind, generous nature. Your comments are consistently neither. Please spread your malice elsewhere.
Post Thanks / Like - 3 Likes
Likes Afid, WaterWitchin, SouthPark liked this post
  #14  
Old 04-18-2020, 12:09 AM
neophyte's Avatar
neophyte neophyte is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Zone: 9b
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 793
Rules and differing opinions
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dollythehun View Post
When everyone is wrong except you, that should be a tip off of your narcissism. The Board has a kind, generous nature. Your comments are consistently neither. Please spread your malice elsewhere.
Better yet, try to spread some positivity in the world. It's not "you" vs. "us"; it's a community of equals. We try to lift everyone up here.
Post Thanks / Like - 2 Likes
Likes WaterWitchin, SouthPark liked this post
  #15  
Old 04-18-2020, 01:04 AM
Leafmite's Avatar
Leafmite Leafmite is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Zone: 5b
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10,088
Rules and differing opinions
Default

Everywhere you go, there are rules, spoken and unspoken. When you go to a restaurant, when you work for a corporation, when you attend school/university, when you drive a car, when you get together with a group of friends...you follow rules. Every civilization, every association with others is based on rules, spoken and unspoken. Even online, there are rules. Rules provide unity and civility. Reddit communities, online forums, online games...they all have rules.

Even in the USA, freedom of speech is not absolute. If you work for a corporation and post something on social media that is very nasty, you might get fired. If you think no one will discover your online identity, think again...many times others have found the person behind the post. So, some of these rules about being civil can actually protect you and your reputation, just like many of those other rules, spoken and unspoken, protect you from other potential issues out there. I am a believer in logic.
__________________
I decorate in green!
Post Thanks / Like - 4 Likes
Likes early, WaterWitchin, SouthPark, Clawhammer liked this post
  #16  
Old 04-18-2020, 02:23 AM
Orchid Whisperer's Avatar
Orchid Whisperer Orchid Whisperer is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Zone: 8a
Location: Man without a country
Posts: 3,168
Rules and differing opinions Male
Default

Brian:

Everyone has a right to an opinion. However, nobody has a right to come into someone else's forum, behave badly, and then expect everyone else to be OK with that.

If you look closely at what I said, this is a generic comment about what everybody (or nobody) should expect regarding opinion and behavior. I'm not making an accusation. Talk about orchids, in a way that would not provoke a fight or argument in person, everything should be fine.

Cross that line, it is a different matter. I've gotten whacked on the nose with a rolled-up newspaper by moderators here myself for less-than-polite posts. I probably deserved it, even though I didn't feel that way at the time. Consider such events an opportunity to reflect on your interpersonal skills, or lack thereof. Don't expect a lot of sympathy for failing to reflect, and instead dialing behaviors up a notch.
__________________
Wear a d@mn mask!!
Post Thanks / Like - 2 Likes
Likes WaterWitchin, SouthPark liked this post
  #17  
Old 04-18-2020, 07:45 AM
Ray's Avatar
Ray Ray is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: May 2005
Member of:AOS
Location: Oak Island NC
Posts: 13,009
Rules and differing opinions Male
Default

In general, forum polls tend to be poor, because the creator is biased when creating the questions, so they might give a particular result, or they are incomplete.

In the case of this one, the poll asks if opinions should be censored. I seriously doubt that any of us would like to see that happen. However, I get the impression that the poll ignores the true issue, how those opinions are stated, which is totally different.
__________________
Ray Barkalow, Orchid Iconoclast
FIRSTRAYS.COM
Post Thanks / Like - 2 Likes
Likes WaterWitchin, SouthPark liked this post
  #18  
Old 04-18-2020, 08:11 AM
Mountaineer370 Mountaineer370 is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2017
Zone: 5b
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,405
Rules and differing opinions Female
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian1212 View Post
I have been informed by the moderators that I am not allowed to talk badly about this forum.
Most members on orchidboard will not be aware of this rule, I am aware of it but I think it is not very democratic.
I'm having a hard time understanding why you would even want to be a member of a forum for which you have such a low opinion. I'm not voting in your poll, but I will say, if you think the Orchid Board is such a bad place, why on earth do you keep coming here? It seems your only sick motivation is to cause trouble.

This forum is not a "democracy." It is a privately owned entity, and as such, the owner, through the moderators, has every right to determine what is and is not permitted here.
__________________
Cheri
Post Thanks / Like - 4 Likes
Likes early, WaterWitchin, Afid, SouthPark liked this post
  #19  
Old 04-18-2020, 09:35 AM
early's Avatar
early early is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2019
Zone: 7a
Location: NM, Rio Grande Valley
Age: 79
Posts: 330
Rules and differing opinions Female
Default

"During this time of world crisis, wouldn't it be better to be a little kinder, even on the web."







'
__________________
STAY HOME LIVE LONGER

Last edited by early; 04-18-2020 at 01:54 PM..
Post Thanks / Like - 3 Likes
Likes WaterWitchin, SouthPark, Clawhammer liked this post
  #20  
Old 04-18-2020, 10:59 AM
wisdomseeker's Avatar
wisdomseeker wisdomseeker is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Member of:Past member AOS
Location: SE USA
Posts: 355
Rules and differing opinions Male
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian1212 View Post
I have been informed by the moderators that I am not allowed to talk badly about this forum.

The moderators have told me and they will probably delete this as anti forum propaganda but I want to know what the members think.

Should orchidboard be censoring posts
Trying to explain "how the things we complain about" are the things we could be changing, is fruitless when turned deaf and blind.

Your opinion is still posted, and the so-called 'censorship Nazis' did not delete your post, right? Yes indeed (a no-brainer): Orchidboard has their rules and regulations. But, there is also an invisible universal rule.

Did you forget the Golden Rule? Hate ain't great... I think you lost your cool my friend (but hey, that's just my opinion for what it is worth - and maybe the moderators will delete my pro-forum propaganda talk).
Post Thanks / Like - 4 Likes
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
china, forum, moderators, orchidboard, people


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 AM.

© 2007 OrchidBoard.com
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.37 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Clubs vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.