Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   B. Cucullata concerns (sunburn? root rot? light deficient?) and other misc. questions (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/99298-cucullata-concerns-sunburn-root-rot-light-deficient-misc-questions.html)

saxxophone 11-30-2018 02:36 PM

B. Cucullata concerns (sunburn? root rot? light deficient?) and other misc. questions

3 Attachment(s)
Hello! This is my first post on an orchid forum so apologies if I'm in the wrong place. I am a novice orchid grower; I have five orchids that I've attained and managed to keep alive since last March. My most recent purchase is a young mounted Brassavola Cucullata that I got from Andy's Orchids during one of their sales. This morning, I noticed one leaf that's beginning to yellow, and is now black at the tip. I've also noticed two leaves next to it that are starting to yellow at the tip as well.

I've had this orchid for about two weeks now. Since it's mounted, it requires watering more than once a week, so I've been watering the media every night, or once every two days; essentially letting the media dry out completely before watering again. I've also been wetting the roots along with the media, but I understand now that I shouldn't be watering those roots as often since it could lead to rot. I'm also planning on watering this orchid with warmer water, as I've read that it may be better for this orchid species. Lastly, I used to use the MiracleGrow Orchid plant food mist in the past, but have since moved to the RepotMe 13-3-15 as of a week ago; I've been using this fertilizer weekly as recommended.