Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Miscellaneous & Other Genera (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/miscellaneous-and-other-genera/)
-   -   Corybas geminigibbus (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/miscellaneous-and-other-genera/99023-corybas-geminigibbus.html)

King_of_orchid_growing:) 10-20-2018 12:18 PM

Corybas geminigibbus

2 Attachment(s)
I’ve been growing Corybas geminigibbus since around May 23, 2018. Corybas growth habits are not widely known and detailed photographic documentation is not common. Lots of people may have seen these orchids with tuberoid, in leaf, in flower, or in the later stages of growing a shoot. Early stages of the tuberoid sprouting such as these photos are extremely rare at best, (at least, I have not been able to find any).

The 1st photo was taken October 6, 2018.

The 2nd photo was taken today, Saturday, October 19, 2018.

We are currently in fall in the northern hemisphere.

Although it may not be clear, this tuberoid is currently sprouting 2 growths from the top. They are both white and they have extremely long and fine filaments protruding from the surface of the growths. I do not currently know what these growths really are.

Bulbopedilum 10-20-2018 07:35 PM

Very nice! I believe they are leaves (which will unfurl then bloom), but I'm not sure when they are supposed to appear in the norhtern hemisphere. Corybas are also starting to sprout in the southern hemisphere here as well. Post updates!

King_of_orchid_growing:) 10-21-2018 01:26 AM

The larger of the 2 growths appear to be growing downwards, (toward the moss), for some reason. I do not know why. This is one of the reasons why I question whether it really is a sprouting leaf. In my mind, if it was a leaf, I'd assume it would be growing towards the light, rather than away from the light source.