Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Hybrids (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/hybrids/)
-   -   Phalaenopsis Schilleriana and other hybrids, are they minis? (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/hybrids/97328-phalaenopsis-schilleriana-hybrids-minis.html)

s3attlite 04-10-2018 09:02 PM

Phalaenopsis Schilleriana and other hybrids, are they minis?

1 Attachment(s)
Hello Orchid Board,

First off, apologies since I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I am new to orchids and running across conflicting information on the internet of all places! I know, I must be googling wrong...

I hear that P. Schilleriana and its hybrids are miniature orchids but pictures of the species seem to show fairly large plants from time to time. I understand the species grows very slowly and flowers while still small, but does that constitute a miniature if they can grow to typical phal. sizes? Has anyone else had a Jiaho's pink girl like hybrid grow to a substantial size? Or are those photos just misleading? Could the ones people are growing and calling miniatures just be young plants?

-Ed

Gthumbz89 04-10-2018 09:12 PM

I think that jiaho's pink girl is a mini, but other schilleriana hybrids are not minis. It depends on the hybrid. Phal. schilleriana itself does get to be a large phal.

s3attlite 04-10-2018 09:20 PM

Thanks for the clarification! The photo I posted is my noID hybrid, with increasingly larger leaves. I was hoping it was a mini, but my hopes aren't high since the most recent root is also sort of big compared to the rest of the plant. Sigh..

No-Pro-mwa 04-11-2018 12:47 PM

Oh well the blooms are so pretty who cares ;)

s3attlite 04-11-2018 02:33 PM