Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Vanda Alliance - Neofinetia (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/vanda-alliance-neofinetia/)
-   -   Teach me how to buy a Neo (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/vanda-alliance-neofinetia/967-teach-buy-neo.html)

Tikva 08-08-2006 02:44 PM

Teach me how to buy a Neo

I want one. I'm really on a budget so if it's wisest to pay a bit, then I will wait. I need it to be from someone reputable who grows well since I'm a newbie and need all the help I can get.
I don't want white. I want a pretty color and would love variegated leaves.
I found some at New World Orchids - pricier than I really want to pay and they sell by growths. For example - 2 growths. What is that?! It means like 2 sections? Is that a good size for me to have - how much do I need for it to be almost blooming size or healthy to grow for me without being so tender that I could mess it up?
Any pointers would be SO appreciated!!
K

Mahon 08-08-2006 05:38 PM

Tik,

Neofinetia falcata is a relatively easy orchid to grow, there should be no troubles with it. As to sizes, if they don't say it is blooming size, send them an e-mail and ask. Two growths means there is one plant with 2 growths (aka. keikes, but that is not a widely accepted orchid term)...

As I have been told by a local Japanese orchid grower (in regards to Neo. falcata), "the name is what you are really buying"... I think I understand what he means, but I just can't put it into words.

I have seen white and peach colored Neo. falcata for about $20 at a local nursery... they are actually blooming now. They are in good condition, and are a very inexpensive price...

-Pat

Tikva 08-08-2006 05:45 PM

Buy me one! I'd trust you to pick me one :c)
Do they smell good too? :c)

littlefrog 08-08-2006 05:51 PM