Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Vanda Alliance - Neofinetia (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/vanda-alliance-neofinetia/)
-   -   Amami Furan - Orchid Mail! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/vanda-alliance-neofinetia/96261-amami-furan-orchid-mail.html)

cgrace 01-05-2018 11:50 PM

Amami Furan - Orchid Mail!

1 Attachment(s)
My NYE Ebay purchase arrived today from JapaneseOrchids!

It looks pretty ok to me, but, I am also a beginner... so, maybe not picking up on every nuance. Either way, this is my first neo and am beside myself with glee!

charlesf6 01-06-2018 12:44 AM

Looks very, very good to me!

Pattywack 01-06-2018 07:27 AM

Oh now you’ve done it! That looks like a very nice plant and Japaneseorchids is an excellent vendor, beautiful, healthy plants.

Neofinetia are quite addictive, better find a nice grow area for the collection you are going to obtain. When these plants flower the fragrance is amazing! Congratulations on your new plant!

No-Pro-mwa 01-06-2018 11:50 AM

Looks very nice congrats.

cgrace 01-06-2018 11:55 PM

Thank you so much, everyone! I'm hooked! :)

(also should this be going into spike? i saw quite a few dried up/dead spikes. it looks like this will need a repot as well. i read that right before the growing season aka late winter is when to do this? guidance appreciated :))

Shoreguy 01-28-2018 09:39 PM

The big question is not whether it will spike now or later but what method you are going to use for repotting, sphag
or a bark mixture. Spiking will take care of itself given good light and proper watering and feeding.

Sphag repotting requires a learning process and might present problems at first. Also watering might not be so intuitive as it's pretty easy to overwater sphag.