Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Pleurothallis Alliance (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/pleurothallis-alliance/)
-   -   Restrepia trichoglossa (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/pleurothallis-alliance/94712-restrepia-trichoglossa.html)

Jakob 07-08-2017 07:59 AM

Restrepia trichoglossa

3 Attachment(s)
I really like this little plant, and as a beginner I find it undemanding and rewarding.
I currently grow it outside, since inside the buds started blasting. I persume because of the warm nights inside. it has now two flowers, a bud, and three new growths. It sprouts new buds and flowers practically every month.
I also like it because i tend to overwater, this one does not seem to mind it a bit, so i dont have to hold back :)

Salixx 07-08-2017 02:46 PM

Very nice! It kind of looks like a flame :)

Orchid Whisperer 07-08-2017 03:12 PM

Nice! I've only grown Restrepia in pots. Nice to see that they also bloom on mounts. I know in the wild they are epiphytes, but I assumed the water demands would be too great to grow them "in captivity" without a greenhouse or terrarium.

SaraJean 07-12-2017 08:37 AM

Want!! That is such a cool little bloom

No-Pro-mwa 07-23-2017 06:32 PM

Well it's a cute little bugger.

Tindomul 09-08-2017 03:47 PM

Very nice. Congrats.

Jakob 09-19-2017 09:41 AM

1 Attachment(s)
It's blooming again, this is it's second bloom since the last pictures were taken.
It has another bud, it had two, but one was apparently eaten. The flower also shows some signs of being dinner for some creature - the tentacles (petals) are short and uneven...
It's getting cooler now here, and the plant is responding well, growth is faster and flowers last longer (in high summer they wilted in a day, this one s still strong after 3 days). Nighttime temperatuers are around 10°C, daytime depends on rain between 13 to 22°C, relative humidity is high.