Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Species (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/species/)
-   -   Phalaenopsis tetraspis (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/species/94632-phalaenopsis-tetraspis.html)

Biscuit&Gravy 06-30-2017 02:15 PM

Phalaenopsis tetraspis

Hi!
I'm interested in buying a phal. tetrapis. I'm fairly new to orchids so I was wondering if anyone had tips on how to care for this species, ie: when to repot etc. Any and all advice welcome! :)

murph7 06-30-2017 04:30 PM

pretty one!

check this link

Phalaenopsis tetraspis presented by Orchids Limited

jkofferdahl 06-30-2017 06:15 PM

Phal tetrapsis can be finecky. It's not the easiest of Phals to grow. Keep it warm, and keep it humid.

estación seca 07-01-2017 12:24 AM

Warm means never below 60 F / 15C. Even warmer is much better. Humid means as high as you can over 50%. It doesn't need much light - bright shade is fine.

jkofferdahl 07-01-2017 01:29 PM

With tetrapsis you might even want to keep it about 65 degrees. They're cold abhorent.

Ray 07-01-2017 02:10 PM

Yep, I put tetraspis along side of bellina for being warmth-loving.

Since moving my tetraspis outside - 75° nights / 85°-90° days, with high humidity - it has been a LOT happier.

Manu 08-07-2017 07:36 PM

What everyone else said, but I'd add that if you can mount it it would probably grow better then in a pot in my opinion, as long as you can keep up with the waterings. It's a great species. Don't overthink it and buy it, they're not hard to grow :)

Biscuit&Gravy 08-11-2017 04:35 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks everyone for the great tips. Here's a picture of my new tetraspis that I've had for about a month now. I took your advice and put the plant upstairs where it's warmer. Since it was mentioned it likes humidity, I put it in the glass bowl with rocks and water on the bottom. So far it seems to like it! Thanks again! :)