Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Vanda Alliance - others (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/vanda-alliance-others/)
-   -   New baby vanda losing leaves (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/vanda-alliance-others/93860-baby-vanda-losing-leaves.html)

Cilla221 04-15-2017 11:34 PM

New baby vanda losing leaves

Hi
I am new to orchid board. I had a couple of phal orchids I bought from the grocery store about 8 years back that did great until I moved and they both died, so my orchid growing experience is limited. I found a pic of blue vanda a few years ago and really wanted one.. I finally got one about two weeks ago. I got this plant from orchids limited and it's a seedling I have never had a seedling of any kind.. I repotted it which I thought was the right thing to do but, in the last week 3 leaves have fallen off.. I am just wondering is this to be expected.. is there anything I can do to keep this plant alive? Also I tried to upload pics but for some reason they would not load.. :(

estación seca 04-16-2017 12:25 AM

Welcome to the Orchid Board, Cilla221!

People seem to need 5 posts before they can post photos. If you reply to other people's messages that counts as a post.

How big is your plant? How big is the pot? What kind of potting mix did you use? Vanda seedlings usually get in trouble from one of two things: not enough water, or too much water that rots the roots.

Vanda seedlings can be tricky to start with when learning to grow orchids. People who grow Vanda seedlings in pots use small pots, very large chunks of bark or clay balls for medium, and water 1-3 times a week.