Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Propagation (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/propagation/)
-   -   Phal keiki in full water culture? (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/propagation/93564-phal-keiki-water-culture.html)

Mama.K 03-23-2017 01:21 AM

Phal keiki in full water culture?

1 Attachment(s)
Hi all!

Full disclosure, I am still new to orchid keeping. It has only been about 4 months since I got my first phal and it met an untimely demise... however, about 2.5 months ago I got another phal and a mini phal from Lowe's. They were HORRIBLY over-watered and I almost lost them to root rot! I'll get into more of those details in another post, but they have both been converted to full water culture and are bouncing back beautifully ❤.

Now to the point of this post... tonight I came into possession of two keikis. Another phal and mini phal. The mini phal keiki has 2 healthy looking leaves about 1.5in long and a single root about 1.25in long. The other is not looking so good. It has 2 roots, both VERY short (like one is barely there and the other is no longer than .75in) and the leaves are about 2-3in long and very soft/wilted and very sad looking. I have them each in the same water culture set up as my other two - 1/4 to 1/3 of the root length submerged in filtered water in a glass jar sitting in an East window.

Is there anything else I can do to keep them alive? I plan on misting them every 1-2 days to make sure they're getting enough moisture but I'm new to orchid care let alone keikis...

Mama.K 03-23-2017 01:25 AM

In the photo it looks like the mini phal root is much more than 1/3 of the way submerged but it was just the angle... and I forgot to mention the phal keiki was attached to a dying mother plant who had suffered from a bad case of root rot from old mushy bark media :(

Orchid Whisperer 03-23-2017 06:02 AM