Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   Happy snaps, spikes, I'm a happy noob. (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/80385-happy-snaps-spikes-im-happy-noob.html)

bil 10-04-2014 07:01 AM

Happy snaps, spikes, I'm a happy noob.

5 Attachment(s)
Here's a couple of pics showing some good things for a change. A couple of the rescued hard cane dens, my yellow oncidium spiking that when bought turned out to have roots like dry wood wool, and some lolliop action on a vanda.

bil 10-04-2014 07:03 AM

Now all I have to do is get them thru this winter and get the greenhouse built before next winter.

MrHappyRotter 10-04-2014 10:12 AM

This whole thing is a slippery slope. In six months time, your collection will triple in size. In 12 months time, it'll expand to thousands of plants. Within a decade, your mummified corpse will be discovered in the back corner of your greenhouse, covered in a myriad roots feeding off the nutrients in your body.

Your plants look great. I can't grow them, but I love the mini dendrobiums. As a word of caution, the oncidium looks happy, but it seems to be way over potted, so keep an eye on it. For the most part, these types do best in a pot that's just slightly larger than the root ball.

bil 10-04-2014 10:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrHappyRotter (Post 707555)
This whole thing is a slippery slope. In six months time, your collection will triple in size. In 12 months time, it'll expand to thousands of plants. Within a decade, your mummified corpse will be discovered in the back corner of your greenhouse, covered in a myriad roots feeding off the nutrients in your body.