Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   shriveled pseudobulbs on onicidium! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/56397-shriveled-pseudobulbs-onicidium.html)

smooche6 01-22-2012 08:46 PM

shriveled pseudobulbs on onicidium!

Hi I'm new to orchid growing and I don't know how to solve this prob? extremely shriveled psuedobulbs!!! I water once a week and it gets good light and air movement. Why is it so shriveled?

ALSO...can you please identify this growth? (2nd pic) I don't know if it's a new pseudobulb or a flower spike!

PICS: /Users/smooche6/Desktop/IMG_0710.JPG
/Users/smooche6/Desktop/IMG_0711.JPG

King_of_orchid_growing:) 01-23-2012 01:04 AM

1. Your pics aren't uploaded.

2. Check the roots on your Onc. If they're badly damaged, then you have part of your problem solved. Badly damaged root systems = severely limited water uptake.

3. Depending on the Onc you have, you may be able to afford increasing how many times you can water in a week.

camille1585 01-23-2012 05:24 AM

Shriveled bulbs is due to one thing: not enough water getting to the bulbs, but there are very different causes of this.

If you are lucky, you only need to increase watering.
In the other case the roots are dead, so the plant can't take up any of the water than you give. Like Philip says, check the roots, so then you'll immediately know the source of the problem and we can advise you from there.

RosieC 01-24-2012 03:54 PM

It looks like you pics are in a location on you local computer, so no-one else can see them. You need to upload them to a place on the internet. There are a few ways to do this, either putting them on the Orchid Board server, or on a photo-sharing website's server. Take a look at the link in my signature for information on how to do this.