Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   Phalaenopsis flower spike with five branches (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/39169-phalaenopsis-flower-spike-five-branches.html)

johny_pathrose 09-09-2010 05:01 AM

Phalaenopsis flower spike with five branches

I am a newbie, have had a four year old Phalaenopsis that has bloomed all along with single spikes that have branched after the flowers wilted. I now have this new spike thats up with five branches simultaneously and all of them with about 5-6 buds on them. Is it normal?

CTB 09-09-2010 07:55 AM

Great, sometimes when you cut back a spike you can get it to boost a dormant eye and start a new branch'

What you have I'm trying to do with a cloning gel that promote branching, yes I think its a little unusual to do it on its own. Five branches off of one spike is a lot I've only had two. But enjoy!

nenella 09-09-2010 08:16 AM

Sounds lovely! Please show us a photo if you can as we love seeing pictures!

jrodpad 09-09-2010 09:10 AM

Hi Johny,

First, welcome to the OB!

With respect to branching, I remember reading somewhere (could be on this board) that as phals age, those with the genetic propensity to develop branching flower spikes, tend to branch out more and more. Thus, a branching phal might not branch much in its first few flowering seasons, perhaps only as secondary flowering after the first bunch of flowers expire; but as such a phal matures, it will grow into its full branching potential.

Sounds good, right? I have no confidence that this is true information however, as I can't seem to find where I read this.... so take it as an unsubstantiated orchid myth for now.

Any phal experts have any thoughts? Am I making this up completely or is this true?

Sorry for the confusion!

- J