Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   Repotting rootbound Phalaenopsis (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/36020-repotting-rootbound-phalaenopsis.html)

editorbob 05-25-2010 07:56 AM

Repotting rootbound Phalaenopsis

I'm a repotting novice. I recently purchased a very nice, blooming Phalaenopsis that I need to repot, as it was store-planted in a mix of odds & ends and I want to get it into our Coco-Chip medium. On inspection, the plant proved to be quite rootbound -- most roots look healthy but are wrapping around the inside of the pot rather tightly. I've read the Member Article on repotting, and it does not address my question: When repotting, do I need to loosen or otherwise rearrange the roots in the new, larger pot, or will they take care of themselves once they have room? I welcome all tips & tricks, thanks!

jrodpad 05-25-2010 09:28 AM

editorbob,

A while back I went to a "how to repot your orchids" class at my local greenhouse and as a demonstration, they repotted a phal that was just like the one you describe - the roots at the top of the pot had woven themselves into a ring that encircled the top of the pot.