Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   Aerangis fastuosa (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/3217-aerangis-fastuosa.html)

jstaub 04-05-2007 02:47 PM

Aerangis fastuosa

Hello! This is my first post in the forum, though I've been on the site for a few months now. I am a beginner orchid grower I guess - I have 10 plants and have been growing for a year now. Oncidiums seem to like me best, though I do have a few phals and catts. I haven't lost a plant yet *knock on wood* but I'm sure it'll happen any day. :)

Anyway, I went to the Longwood Gardens Orchid Show this past weekend and did something that we've all done, that I knew I shouldn't have done, but did anyway: bought a brand new species that I really knew nothing about and assumed I could grow it. That species was Aerangis fastuosa, and in its little 2" pot it's one of the cutest damn orchids I've ever seen. And the smell is DIVINE.

I should say the smell was divine, because in the 5 days since I've brought it home, the flower has died. Fine. Except today I noticed that one of the bottom leaves is yellowing and shrivelling. I've also noticed that all of the leaves are kind of "shrivelled" - not really shrivelled but they're very rough and somewhat scaly. It's halfway through growing a new leaf and that leaf is very smooth. Does anyone have any suggestions on what might be wrong? It seems rather dramatic for less than a week's time.

Also, does anyone have good information on aerangis culture? I've been looking around on the web a bit today and am not finding a lot.

Thank you!

Jayme

Frdemetr 04-05-2007 03:02 PM

Jayme, you can find some information in IOSPE
IOSPE PHOTOS