Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Bulbophyllum Alliance (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/bulbophyllum-alliance/)
-   -   Staggered Blooms (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/bulbophyllum-alliance/16112-staggered-blooms.html)

Jerry Delaney 09-25-2008 12:12 AM

Staggered Blooms

4 Attachment(s)
I am new at this Bulbo game. Tried some maybe 15 - 20 years ago; managed to kill them all! The Cirr makoyanum is blooming OK (I guess?) but the inflorescences seem to mature sporadically. Is that normal for this species or is there something I can do to get more blooms open at the same time. I know that this way, the blooming period is prolonged, but at least twice this many blooms have already gone and there is more coming. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks. Oh, the second bloom is a cross of fascinator and bicolor.

tuvoc 09-25-2008 10:04 AM

Sorry I can't answer your queation, Jerry, as I'm just starting with bulbos myself. I just wanted to say that if I get Half of what you got. I'd be in heaven. They look great.

Kim

Tindomul 09-25-2008 11:17 AM

What do you mean by sporadically? Do you mean that they simply do not all bloom together, at the same time? If so, I would say this is normal for the entire family.

Jerry Delaney 09-25-2008 04:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tindomul (Post 150878)
What do you mean by sporadically? Do you mean that they simply do not all bloom together, at the same time? If so, I would say this is normal for the entire family.

Thanks for the information. I wasn't sure if I changed some of the growing conditions i. e. temperature,humidity, light, etc if more would bloom at the same time. Guess I'll just leave it alone. Again, thanks.

Sandy4453 09-25-2008 05:11 PM