Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   add styrofoam to mix? (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/12223-add-styrofoam-mix.html)

(..._...) 06-02-2008 04:45 PM

add styrofoam to mix?

Howdy! :)

This may sound stupid, but hear me out :blushing:

I like my sphagnum, moss, but I would like to make it a tad bit airyer (?)... well so that it doesn't compress when being watered.

so, what if I added small styrofoam chunks to the mix? I bought a lot of annuals over the weekend, so I have TONS of those styrofoam trays, and I wondered if I could put them to use. I know somepeople use perlite in their sphag mix, so I wondered whether or not this would work...

Thanks!:)
Cam

caseydoll 06-02-2008 04:53 PM

I've never done it before but I have for sure heard of others breaking up styrofoam (regular white kind) and using it in their mix. Usually people just break up packing peanuts but it all works the same. And just so no one corrects me (i know that you already know this but some people may not :) ), never use the biodegradable kind for obvious reasons. :biggrin:

bkim 06-02-2008 04:54 PM

I've seen and heard of people using styrofoam in medium. It's worth a shot. Some Neofinetia I recently bought from a Japanese dealer had styrofoam popcorn in it.

cirillonb 06-02-2008 06:19 PM

styrofoam tends to float and work itself to the top of soil mixes but I doubt it will with sphagnum.
Nick

quiltergal 06-02-2008 07:02 PM

I think I'm in the minority when it comes to styrofoam. I don't like it. Especially for finely rooted plants like Oncs. The roots grow right through the stuff and it's a booger to get off without breaking the roots when it's time to repot. Just my :twocents: .

whygreenberg 06-02-2008 07:07 PM