Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Members' Displays (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/members-displays/)
-   -   My unique molded mount (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/members-displays/11397-unique-molded-mount.html)

Jerry 05-07-2008 03:16 PM

My unique molded mount

4 Attachment(s)
I am thinking of marketing a new material I have been working with for 10 years.
I started making additive cement based non alkali mounts 10 years ago and have been very happy with the result.
I made a rubber Aztec king head mold from a model I made with plasticene and have been hand placing the special fiber and cement base material into them to form unique lightweight mounts.
As you can see the orchids roots are all over them and because I added slow release fertilizer granules into the wet mix the orchids just love growing on them.
The great thing about these is the wet material is easy to mix, can be hand molded into any shape or placed into any kind of mold and takes 8 hrs to set up.
The finished mount is very absorbent, strong and lightweight and can be made to look like any material with the right mold and look hundreds of years old or new.
I would like to hear some comments

cb977 05-07-2008 03:19 PM

I love them, Jerry! Very nice work! :nod:

The only thing I would question is putting the slow-release fertilizer in the mix. It only lasts a certain amount of time and then you'll just have the little pellet jackets with noting substantial in them.

Jerry 05-07-2008 03:40 PM

Fertilizer in orchid mount

The fertilizer is inside the mount so you will never see anything, also fertilizer is optional, I just put it in for fun.

Royal 05-07-2008 03:41 PM

I agree, very nice! I would think the empty pockets where the fert pellets were would make for great porosity.