Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Introductions - Break the Ice ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/introductions-break-the-ice-/)
-   -   Hello from Australia (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/introductions-break-the-ice-/113216-hello-australia.html)

Monbulk 01-20-2024 04:33 AM

Hello from Australia

Hello! I have been stalking this board for information so really happy to join. I am a total newbie to any orchids other than cymbidiums and Australian native dendrobiums which are the local "leave under a tree and forget about" type orchids here. I am in the cooler end of Australia in the hills outside Melbourne - we get a lot of rain and some frosts down to -4C (25 F) (just under freezing) on Winter nights, but hot dry summers (although not this year..).

Now I have a new addiction particularly to cool growing Dendrobiums and hopelessly in love with Cattleyas. I grow on an enclosed porch which will be warmer than outside but not sure of the minimum - maybe 5 degrees C (low 40s F). So the warmer growers will be coming in to a tea trolley in front of the window. Might be two tea trolleys.

Ray 01-20-2024 08:20 AM

Welcome. It sounds like you’re in good shape for the catts

Louis_W 01-20-2024 08:41 AM

Welcome!

There are definitely some members of the cattleya alliance that can take your low Temps! Certainly Laelia anceps and Cattleya purpurata. I grow bifoliate Cattleya, which are amazingly tolerant of temperature extremes. Mine have dropped to the mid 40s on occasion. If you could get that minimum up to 50 you could probably grow all but the hottest growing cattleya like C. dowiana.

I dont suppose you live out by the Dandenongs?

Roberta 01-20-2024 11:05 AM

Welcome!