Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Oncidium/Odontoglossum Alliance (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/oncidium-odontoglossum-alliance/)
-   -   Oncidium leaf spotting and bulb browning SOS (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/oncidium-odontoglossum-alliance/109081-oncidium-leaf-spotting-bulb-browning-sos.html)

YokaYampi 02-27-2022 12:18 PM

Oncidium leaf spotting and bulb browning SOS

Hello! im new to oncidums ( usually phals) but this summer i got Oncidium Jairak fragrance 'Ha-Nu-Maan CF3 and as you can see in the pictures it came with a bunch of bulbs but some were brown ish.. grey at the bottom. when repotting it ended up breaking in two. I cut the growths that had a lot of browning at the base off and repotted them into two pots. however a few months later and some new growths ive noticed spotting on the leaves and some bulbs continuing to brown/grey at the bottom.
Since im new to bulbs im not sure what to do!
Any insight would be so appreciated

Pictures
https://imgur.com/a/g0hBjdI
Imgur: The magic of the Internet

estación seca 02-27-2022 01:05 PM

Brown and firm bases are normal and common on many Oncidiums. It looks healthy except for the leaf spotting, which I haven't seen on my plants. It makes me wonder about poor nutrition or virus infection. How are you fertilizing? Is it getting any magnesium?

YokaYampi 02-27-2022 01:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by estación seca (Post 981138)
Brown and firm bases are normal and common on many Oncidiums. It looks healthy except for the leaf spotting, which I haven't seen on my plants. It makes me wonder about poor nutrition or virus infection. How are you fertilizing? Is it getting any magnesium?

thats a relief to hear, browning bulbs are scary when you arent use to it.
I have an MSU fertilizer and fertilize weakly weekly.