Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Potting & Repotting (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/potting-and-repotting/)
-   -   dormant Fredclarkeara after dark - watered (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/potting-and-repotting/107164-dormant-fredclarkeara-dark-watered.html)

AuroraC 06-27-2021 09:12 PM

dormant Fredclarkeara after dark - watered

2 Attachment(s)
Hello everyone! :waving I'm new to orchids and I'm a little bit confused..

I just got a fredclarkeara after dark. but when they sent it to me it was rootbound, so I decided to change it to a slightly bigger pot with the potting mix they suggest at Fred Clarke catasetum culture sheet.

The problem is... since it should be in growing season and I've never had one before, I didn't realize the plant was dormant and that I shouldn't have watered it but I did... that was yesterday and the substrate is still damp.

The question is... should I dig out the plant and let the roots dry and just wait for the new growth to show up to repot it? or should I just leave it alone and let it dry out on its own and don't touch it again until it show signs of new growth?
*I already removed the green moss and the humidity tray.*

I contacted Sunset Valley Orchids and they kindly sent me some instructions of how to take care of my plant, but they didn't say anything about this specific situation.

I'm seriously a newbie and I don't want to kill my plant. I love it. besides it was super expensive and I will hardly ever gonna get another one here where I live...

I would appreciate any advice you could give me!!
Thank you!

fishmom 06-27-2021 10:02 PM