Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Beginner Discussion (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/)
-   -   Yellowing and Black Tips on Cattleya Hybrid Seed Pods (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/beginner-discussion/101303-yellowing-black-tips-cattleya-hybrid-seed-pods.html)

NeonKraken 09-10-2019 10:34 PM

Yellowing and Black Tips on Cattleya Hybrid Seed Pods

4 Attachment(s)
I've had a Cattleya hybrid developing seed pods for about a month. They seemed like they were doing well until a few days ago when I noticed yellowing and shriveled, black areas on the tips. It kind of just came out of nowhere, they seemed super healthy and like they were growing well before. I'm really new to the seedpod game so I could have made some dumb mistake but at the moment I can't think what it could've been. Is there any way I can salvage them or are they too far gone? Thanks in advance.

SouthPark 09-11-2019 04:10 AM

Does this orchid grow outdoors or indoors? What sort of growth conditions? Temperature, amount of light, watering details - how it is watered, whole plant watered or just roots and media, and how much etc.

Does the plant have any water lodged inside the sheath and causing bacteria issues?

NeonKraken 09-11-2019 07:32 AM

It grows indoors in a small tiered indoor greenhouse with a small fan running constantly. It is on the tier closest to the growlight. I water it by placing it in a basin, watering it through the top, and letting it soak for a while then draining it.
As far as I know it's not waterlogged.

SouthPark 09-11-2019 07:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeonKraken (Post 901610)
....watering it through the top, and letting it soak for a while then draining it.
As far as I know it's not waterlogged.