Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Terrarium Gardening (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/terrarium-gardening/)
-   -   starting my build (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/terrarium-gardening/101162-starting-build.html)

bbqman 08-18-2019 09:51 AM

starting my build

3 Attachment(s)
Well after a ridiculous amount of reading and asking dumb questions I'm finally stating my build. I bought a 75 gallon drilled aquarium with a heavy oak stand and an Odyssea t5 quad timer light. The light will eventually get replaced. I paid $100 for everything

bbqman 08-18-2019 09:56 AM

4 Attachment(s)
I made a false bottom out of eggcrate and made a small waterfall in the corner even though everyone said not to do it. I'm just stubborn and want to experiment since it's my first build. I used scrap pieces of eggcrate for support instead of pvc pipe. It seemed easier and has better water flow. It's very sturdy also!

bbqman 08-18-2019 10:06 AM

2 Attachment(s)
I got 4 agro brite 6400k t5 ho grow bulbs for now. To be honest it seems like its about half the light I would need but it will get me going for now.
I also installed 6 90lb wheels so it can be moved when needed.

bbqman 08-18-2019 10:14 AM

I bought LECA for the bottom, cork flats and rounds and coconut fiber for the background, and substrate mix. The rounds were bigger than expected but were pretty cool looking. I couldn't use the biggest one for the background so I'll just add it whole and attach epiphytes.

bbqman 08-18-2019 10:25 AM

pics attached

5 Attachment(s)
I couldn't attach pics. something about a security token.

Ray 08-18-2019 10:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbqman (Post 900545)
I got 4 agro brite 6400k t5 ho grow bulbs for now. To be honest it seems like its about half the light I would need but it will get me going for now.