Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web !

Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/)
-   Pests & Diseases (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/pests-and-diseases/)
-   -   Mealybug cotton or mite webbing? Please help in pest ID (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/pests-and-diseases/100363-mealybug-cotton-mite-webbing-please-help-pest-id.html)

ZoeO 04-20-2019 04:08 AM

Mealybug cotton or mite webbing? Please help in pest ID

3 Attachment(s)
New member here :hello

This is my first time posting a new thread (and only my second post overall). Hoping to have the community's assistance in identifying a pest.

I've always had an orchid here or there for several years but just recently started acquiring more. I currently have about 40 orchids which I grow in my home - about 20 were purchased in the last month (yes probably a little too much too fast). Until a week ago I have been pest free so I'm new to having to deal with pests.

One of my recent purchases was a phal from a local greenhouse that got a small mealybug infestation about a week after I brought it home. I asked the grower for advice about treating it, but they also gave me an option to exchange it, so I did. Fast forward less than a week and one of my mom's phals which I have been babysitting for about 3 months now has some white webbing between two of the leaves. It was not near the mealybug one but it was in the same room, across the room about 10 to 12 feet away. I can't tell whether it is a mealybug nest or perhaps a spider mite web? At first I thought it was the cottony stuff that mealybugs create, but now I'm not so sure. Strangely I did not see anything moving at all. I did only look at it with my naked eye and not a magnifying glass. But I'm very sure nothing was moving. So far after checking my other orchids I've only found springtails (but that's another story).