Donate Now
and become
Forum Supporter.
Many perks! <...more...>


|

09-17-2008, 10:55 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Zone: 10b
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,467
|
|
gettting security warning?
Hi all, I have been getting a security warning only when I open OB and every time I open anything OB related. The warning reads:
current site: http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com
trusted site: res://ieframe.dll
It ask me should I trust it or not. I always say no but it keeps showing up every time I open anything OB. 
__________________
"An orchid lover and their money are soon parted"
Dave
|

09-17-2008, 11:01 PM
|
 |
Roots are good
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2006
Zone: 5a
Location: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Posts: 9,246
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by flhiker
Hi all, I have been getting a security warning only when I open OB and every time I open anything OB related. The warning reads:
current site: http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com
trusted site: res://ieframe.dll
It ask me should I trust it or not. I always say no but it keeps showing up every time I open anything OB. 
|
 Not me. Wonder what you're experiencing?
__________________
Ross
http://orchids-ross.blogspot.com/
I don't do most Dendros or large, "floofy orchids". For me it's minis (like Angraecoides), Masdies, Paphs, and others that crept in somewhere along the line. See my orchid list for complete collection (usually not current.)
|

09-17-2008, 11:03 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2008
Zone: 9b
Location: SE Florida
Posts: 117
|
|
run your Adware proggy or whatever it is you use for malware & your virus checker .. looks to me like a hijack attempt. But I'm no expert..
__________________
My Orchids love listening to Led Zeppelin or Marc Bolen/T Rex while they are being pampered!
~~Have you hugged your orchids today?~~
|

09-17-2008, 11:10 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2008
Zone: 9b
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 414
|
|
sounds like a virus to me too, i know they occasionally pop up in the ads on the page, there was one my virus scanner caught yesterday.
|

09-17-2008, 11:35 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Zone: 5b
Location: So. Mo.
Posts: 2,311
|
|
Not me . what are you using Firefox or Explorer ? Gin
__________________
Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can.
-Danny Kaye
|

09-18-2008, 12:41 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2007
Zone: 10a
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,741
|
|
Ummm...don't know what it could be. I use IE7 for my Browser with Trend Micro AntiVirus software. I have a firewall in my router that also uses dynamic IP addressing to block intrusion attempts. I do a complete scan daily and haven't had anything show up for a couple of weeks. 
__________________
Happy Growing ~ David
There's always room for 1 more orchid!
|

09-18-2008, 03:35 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2008
Zone: 9a
Location: Stockton, California, US.
Age: 19
Posts: 440
|
|
I think your browser is identifying OB stuff that you open through google as advertising and asks you if you want to trust it as a valid site. The syndication is the routing address for google ads as well as links through its mail program. Are you getting this when using a google email address.
|

09-18-2008, 06:14 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lyon, France but now in Netherlands
Age: 24
Posts: 3,741
|
|
Have you tried using firefox to see if the problem happens with it too? That is part of the reason I use only Firefox. I was getting tired of the problems with IE!
__________________
Camille
Completely orchid obsessed and loving every minute of it....
|

09-18-2008, 09:22 AM
|
 |
Ambassador
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2006
Zone: 9a
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 15,882
|
|
 Dave, I have no idea why that is happening but the suggestions above all sound valid.
I have both IE and Firefox on my computer...Firefox opens to Orchidboard as my home page and the favorites in it are all orchid-related. IE is used for anything else 
|

09-18-2008, 12:28 PM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
Zone: 10b
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,467
|
|
Thanks everyone, I have IE7 and comcast with mcafee anti virus/spyware. I ran both and they did not find anything. but still I get the warning only on the OB.  I will have to get my neighbor /computer expert to come over and see.
__________________
"An orchid lover and their money are soon parted"
Dave
|
|
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Rate This Thread |
Linear Mode
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 AM.
|