Rules and differing opinions
Login
User Name
Password   


Registration is FREE. Click to become a member of OrchidBoard community
(You're NOT logged in)

menu menu

Sponsor
Donate Now
and become
Forum Supporter.

Rules and differing opinions
Many perks!
<...more...>


Sponsor
 

Google


Fauna Top Sites
LOG IN/REGISTER TO CLOSE THIS ADVERTISEMENT
Go Back   Orchid Board - Most Complete Orchid Forum on the web ! > >
Poll: Should orchidboard be censoring people's opinion?
Poll Options
Should orchidboard be censoring people's opinion?

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2020, 02:48 PM
Brian1212 Brian1212 is offline
Jr. Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 22
Rules and differing opinions
Default Rules and differing opinions

I have been informed by the moderators that I am not allowed to talk badly about this forum.
Most members on orchidboard will not be aware of this rule, I am aware of it but I think it is not very democratic.
If I were living in china I might be used to such rules about negative propaganda against the state where they even execute people for such a crime.

But we have people from all over the world on this site, not just from china.
America is a democracy with freedom of speech and I believe an online forum should be the same but I can also see the appeal of running it like china which is of course easier for the moderators.

If the people don't like it they get executed. It works.

Should orchidboard be run the same way is what I want to know. The moderators have told me and they will probably delete this as anti forum propaganda but I want to know what the members think.

Should orchidboard be censoring posts or should open discussions discussing different opinions and point of views be allowed?

Last edited by Brian1212; 04-17-2020 at 02:58 PM..
  #2  
Old 04-17-2020, 03:05 PM
DirtyCoconuts DirtyCoconuts is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2019
Zone: 10b
Location: South Florida, East Coast
Posts: 4,028
Rules and differing opinions
Default

of course they should be censoring the things they deem inappropriate or offensive.

Even in America where there is "free" speech you still cant say anything with no consequence.

this is not a state, this is not your house, this is a digital construct of a community and it adheres to the same principals of any society...you exchange certain freedoms for the benefits of living with others.


If you don't want to be here, no one is forcing you, it is not a right to be here. Someone pays for the bandwidth and they have every right to run it as they see fit.
__________________
Hi - All the ways I grow are dictated by the choices I have made and the environment in which I live. Please listen and act accordingly
--------------------------------------------------------------
Rooted in South Florida....

Zone 10b, Baby! Hot and wet

Last edited by DirtyCoconuts; 04-17-2020 at 03:32 PM..
Post Thanks / Like - 9 Likes
  #3  
Old 04-17-2020, 03:31 PM
fishmom's Avatar
fishmom fishmom is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Zone: 9b
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 1,605
Default

Brian, I suggest you go to the expense and effort of setting up a forum that will mimic this one. Then you can run it the way you see fit.
Post Thanks / Like - 6 Likes
  #4  
Old 04-17-2020, 04:35 PM
Keysguy Keysguy is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Lower Florida Keys
Posts: 662
Rules and differing opinions Male
Default

I'm fairly new here but it seems to me this forum is very liberal compared to most other forums (not just orchids) where I visit. Basically it feels like as long as people are civil to each other the mods will leave you alone. And that's pretty much what the rules say.
Post Thanks / Like - 9 Likes
  #5  
Old 04-17-2020, 05:41 PM
AnonYMouse's Avatar
AnonYMouse AnonYMouse is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Zone: 9b
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2,309
Default

If someone came to your house and spoke badly about you, you wouldn't kick them out?
__________________
Anon Y Mouse

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." Hanlonís Razor

I am not being argumentative. I am correcting you!

LoL Since when is science an opinion?
Post Thanks / Like - 8 Likes
  #6  
Old 04-17-2020, 06:28 PM
neophyte's Avatar
neophyte neophyte is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Zone: 9b
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 591
Rules and differing opinions
Default

Hi Brian, I'd just like to point out two things. First, you're still acting belligerently and, quite frankly, being racist. Secondly, besides affirming what the other members have said, I would like to address your appeal to "free speech," an ideal that you attribute to the Constitution. Here's the First Amendment, copied word for word: "Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances." Orchidboard is not Congress; it is a private entity and thus is legally entitled to moderate posts that are unfounded and seek to smear its reputation (an intent conveyed clearly by one of your earlier posts). If you feel that orchidboard is not the place for you, then by all means, feel free to leave. Have a nice day.

Last edited by neophyte; 04-17-2020 at 06:35 PM..
Post Thanks / Like - 7 Likes
  #7  
Old 04-17-2020, 07:49 PM
WaterWitchin's Avatar
WaterWitchin WaterWitchin is offline
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Zone: 6a
Location: Kansas
Posts: 3,067
Default

I am frankly very glad that you're seeking out to poll the members of OB. I'm the moderator who is dealing with your issues. And I'm darned happy to have you poll the membership to see what others have to say.

From a non-moderator standpoint, WaterWitchin sez:

This is a paid for forum by someone, not a country whether democratic, socialist, communist, etc. As neophyte says, it's a private entity. You can choose to be here or not. Your choice. But you don't get to dictate how the forum is run. And you don't have the right to trash talk its membership. Were I not a moderator, I would have words for you. Unfortunately, it might get me barred from this forum and I don't want that.

As a moderator, I would tell you that you've gone through many personas. It's useless to ban you, because you'll just come back under a different name, with your same old tired skipping trace ISP's. Then we start the cycle over. From a moderator standpoint, you make me tired. And sad that you have nothing better to do.

I hope many more members take the time to chime in and tell you what they think. And the non-moderator part of me ain't wishing you a good day.

---------- Post added at 05:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:44 PM ----------

As info, from 2006 by the owner of this board, one of his few rules (in the event one has never seen it) is below:
While debating and discussion is fine, we will not tolerate rudeness, insulting posts, personal attacks or purposeless inflammatory posts. Our decision is final in these matters
Post Thanks / Like - 10 Likes
  #8  
Old 04-17-2020, 08:23 PM
DirtyCoconuts DirtyCoconuts is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2019
Zone: 10b
Location: South Florida, East Coast
Posts: 4,028
Rules and differing opinions
Default

i support WW Implicitly and Explicitly

...is there a "kick rocks" smiley?
__________________
Hi - All the ways I grow are dictated by the choices I have made and the environment in which I live. Please listen and act accordingly
--------------------------------------------------------------
Rooted in South Florida....

Zone 10b, Baby! Hot and wet
Post Thanks / Like - 2 Likes
Likes Afid, SouthPark liked this post
  #9  
Old 04-17-2020, 08:30 PM
WaterWitchin's Avatar
WaterWitchin WaterWitchin is offline
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Zone: 6a
Location: Kansas
Posts: 3,067
Default

Well yes, there are a couple...

and
Post Thanks / Like - 3 Likes
Likes Keysguy, early, DirtyCoconuts liked this post
  #10  
Old 04-17-2020, 09:13 PM
neophyte's Avatar
neophyte neophyte is offline
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Zone: 9b
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 591
Rules and differing opinions
Default

The dead horse emoticon is a bit terrifying, to be honest... :P
Post Thanks / Like - 2 Likes
Likes nikkik, DirtyCoconuts liked this post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
china, forum, moderators, orchidboard, people


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.

© 2007 OrchidBoard.com
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.37 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Feedback Buttons provided by Advanced Post Thanks / Like (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Clubs vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.